Taunton Deane Borough Council

At the Annual Meeting of Taunton Deane Borough Council, held at The County Room, Somerset County Cricket Club, The County Ground, Taunton on Thursday, 3 May 2018 at 6.30 pm.

Present The Mayor ((Councillor Prior-Sankey)

The Deputy Mayor (Councillor Mrs Herbert)
Councillors Aldridge, Beale, Berry, Booth, Bowrah, Cavill, Coles,
Coombes, Davies, Edwards, Farbahi, Mrs Floyd, Gaines, Govier,
Habgood, Hall, C Hill, Mrs Hill, Horsley, Hunt, James, R Lees,
Mrs Lees, Ms Lisgo, Morrell, Nicholls, Mrs Reed, Ryan, Mrs Smith,
Mrs Smith-Roberts, Mrs Stock-Williams, Sully, Townsend, Mrs Tucker,
Mrs Warmington, Watson and Williams

The meeting was preceded by a Prayer offered by the Reverend David Manning.

1. Election of Mayor

On the motion of Councillor Beale, seconded by Councillor Habgood, it was **resolved** unanimously that Councillor Catherine Avril Herbert be elected Mayor of Taunton Deane for the ensuing year. Councillor Mrs Herbert made and signed the declaration of acceptance of office.

2. Councillor Hazel Ruth Prior-Sankey

On the motion of Councillor Ms Lisgo, seconded by Councillor Habgood, it was **resolved** that the best thanks of the Council be accorded to Councillor Hazel Ruth Prior-Sankey for the manner in which she had discharged the duties of the Office of Mayor during her term of office.

Councillor Prior-Sankey replied.

3. Past Mayor's Badge

The Mayor presented Councillor Prior-Sankey with her past Mayor's badge.

4. Apologies

Councillors Mrs Adkins, M Adkins, Mrs Blatchford, Brown, D Durdan, Ms Durdan, Gage, Martin-Scott, Parrish, Stone, Ms Webber, Wedderkopp and Wren.

5. Appointment of the Executive 2018/2019

Resolved that membership of the Executive would continue to comprise 8 Members for the ensuing year.

6. Appointment of the Corporate Scrutiny Committee

The appointment of a Corporate Scrutiny Committee for the ensuing year was

agreed as follows:-

15 Members, 9 Conservatives, 4 Liberal Democrats, 2 Labour or Independent.

7. Appointment of the Community Scrutiny Committee

The appointment of a Community Scrutiny Committee for the ensuing year was agreed as follows:-

15 Members, 9 Conservatives, 4 Liberal Democrats, 2 Labour or Independent.

(Note: Neither of these Scrutiny Committees could be Chaired by a Member of the controlling administration).

8. Appointment of Regulatory Committees and the Staffing Board

- (a) The appointment of a Planning Committee for the ensuing year was agreed as follows:-
 - 15 Members, 9 Conservatives, 4 Liberal Democrats, 2 Labour or Independent.
- (b) The appointment of a Licensing Committee for the ensuing year was agreed as follows:-
 - 15 Members, 9 Conservatives, 4 Liberal Democrats, 2 Labour or Independent.
- (c) The appointment of a Corporate Governance Committee for the ensuing year was agreed as follows:-
 - 15 Members, 9 Conservatives, 4 Liberal Democrats, 2 Labour or Independent.
- (d) The appointment of a Staffing Board for the ensuing year was agreed with membership being selected on a proportional basis, from a pool of Councillors.

10. Standards Advisory Committee 2018/2019

The appointment of a Standards Advisory Committee for the ensuing year was agreed, with membership to consist of 5 Councillors (3 Conservatives, 1 Liberal Democrat and 1 Labour or Independent), an Independent Person (Mrs L Somerville), 3 Parish Members (Mr M Marshall, Mr B Wilson and 1 vacancy) and 3 independent co-optees (Mrs A Elder, Mr L Rogers and 1 vacancy).

11. Intercessional Prayer

The meeting was closed at 8.07 pm with a prayer offered by the new Mayor's Chaplain, Ronnie King.